

FOREVER DECLARATION

Original Signatories on Behalf of Global Civil Society

On behalf of global civil society - the *Forever Declaration* was signed originally by collaborators at the Antarctic Treaty Summit on 1 December 2009 and is now open for digital signature by anyone anywhere in the world (see www.atsummit50.aq).

The *Forever Declaration* includes 113 original signatories (please see the high-resolution image) with the following individuals who were involved in the ceremonial signing at the Antarctic Treaty Summit:

His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco

Members of the Forever Declaration Drafting Committee

- Ambassador Jorge Berguño (Former Ambassador to the United Nations; Council for Antarctic Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Chile)
- ❖ Dr. Michael Richardson (Former Head of Polar Regions Section, Foreign & Commonwealth Office: United Kingdom)
- ❖ Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (Director, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law; Former President and Current Judge, International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea – Germany)

Members of the International Board for the Antarctic Treaty Summit

- ❖ Professor Paul Arthur Berkman (Chair, International Board for the Antarctic Treaty Summit; Head of Arctic Ocean Geopolitics Programme, Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge: United Kingdom; Research Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, University of California Santa Barbara: United States)
- Dr. Marie Jacobsson (Principal Legal Advisor on International Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs; Member, International Law Commission of the United Nations: Sweden)
- Dr. Yeadong Kim (Former Director of the Korean Polar Research Institute: Republic of Korea)
- Mr. Michael Lang (Director, Smithsonian Marine Science Network and Director, Smithsonian Scientific Diving program, Office of the Under Secretary for Science, Smithsonian Institution: United States)
- Dr. José Retamales, (Director, Chilean Antarctic Institute; Chair, Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs: Chile)
- Professor David W.H. Walton (Vice-Chair, International Board for the Antarctic Treaty Summit; Professor Emeritus, British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge; United Kingdom)
- ❖ Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (see Forever Declaration Drafting Committee)
- ❖ Professor Oran R. Young (Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, University of California Santa Barbara; Chair, International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change: United States)
- Professor Abdul Hamid Zakri (Director, Centre on Global Sustainability Studies, Universiti Sains; Vice President, Third World Academy of Sciences; Former Director, United Nations University Institute of Advanced Studies: Malaysia)