Acknowledgments

his book is a product of the keynote addresses, plenary presentations, panel discussions, workshops, and posters from the Antarctic Treaty Summit: Science-Policy Interactions in International Governance at the Smithsonian Institution during 30 November through 3 December 2009 (http://www.atsummit50.aq).

The international, interdisciplinary, and inclusive spirit of this golden anniversary celebration for the Antarctic Treaty stemmed from the collaboration among its board members: Professor Paul Arthur Berkman (Chair, United States); Dr. Maj De Poorter (New Zealand); Professor Edith Fanta (Brazil); Dr. Marie Jacobsson (Sweden); Dr. Yeadong Kim (Republic of Korea); Mr. Michael Lang (United States); Dr. José Retamales (Chile); Professor David W. H. Walton (Vice-Chair, United Kingdom); Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany); Professor Oran R. Young (United States); and Professor Abdul Hamid Zakri (Malaysia). We gratefully acknowledge the authors of this book and the participants from the 27 nations who contributed to the Antarctic Treaty Summit as well as the 40 national or international government agencies, nongovernmental organizations, foundations, corporations, and universities from around the world that made this celebration a success.

We especially thank the following three summit benefactors who provided essential support for the Antarctic Treaty Summit. With continuous enthusiasm from the start, the Tinker Foundation enabled the overall summit planning and implementation, and we are grateful for the support from Ms. Renate Rennie (Chief Executive Officer and President). The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (Monaco Office) provided key support for the speakers and panelists to attend this event in Washington, D.C., and we gratefully acknowledge the personal involvement from His Serene Highness Prince Albert II. Without enthusiastic support from the Smithsonian Institution, through the Office of the Under-Secretary for Science and the Office of Special Events and Protocol, we would not have had use of the prestigious National Museum of Natural History and National Air and Space Museum or the timely publication of this book, and we especially thank Dr. G. Wayne Clough (12th Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution) for his commitment to the summit activities.

We thank the summit patrons who supported key elements of the Antarctic Treaty Summit. The U.S. Marine Mammal Commission supported the Web site and subsequent archive (http://www.atsummit50.aq) as well as a mini-documentary about the Antarctic Treaty System and other outreach strategies. The Office of Polar Programs at the U.S. National Science Foundation supported the poster session and video interviews that were integrated into the mini-documentary about the lasting values of the Antarctic Treaty for humankind. TransPolar (a Raytheon/ AECOM company) supported the gala at the National Air and Space Museum on the 50th anniversary of the Antarctic Treaty. The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (U.S. Office) contributed to the audiovisual logistics for the plenary presentations and panel discussions as well as the performance by the Keystone State Boychoir. The Eisenhower Institute at Gettysburg College contributed to the lunches and coffee breaks that promoted interactions among participants. The United States-United Kingdom Fulbright Commission supported critical coordination and networking through the University of Cambridge.

We thank the summit sponsors who contributed to the diverse participation and logistics for the Antarctic Treaty Summit. Contract management was through the University of California, Santa Barbara (Bren School of Environmental Science and Management), with additional fiscal administration by the University of Cambridge (Scott Polar Research Institute). The following organizations contributed to the travel, lodging, and registration costs of participants: American Geophysical Union, Foundation for the Good Governance of International Spaces, Greenpeace, Japan Polar Research Association, KBR, Korean Polar Research Institute, Korea Supporters Association for Polar Research, Lindblad Expeditions, Pew Charitable Trusts, Stanford University (Department of Earth Sciences), United Nations Environmental Programme, Universiti Sains Malaysia (Centre for Global Sustainability Studies), and World Wildlife Fund-Australia (Antarctica and Southern Ocean Initiative). The Association for Polar Early Career Scientists conducted the Antarctic Treaty essay contest (which involved submissions from 12) nations), and The Explorers Club covered the costs for the winning essayist. The U.S. Geological Survey covered the costs of the musical performance by Rive Gauche at the gala. The Arctic Governance Project and Aspen Institute (Dialogue and Commission on Arctic Climate Change) contributed to the workshop on Antarctic lessons for the Arctic. The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research contributed to the workshop on the history of international spaces.

We thank the organizations that provided key outreach through their summit endorsements: American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fulbright Academy of Science and Technology, International Council of Science/World Meteorological Organization Joint Committee for the International Polar Year, National Geographic Society, The Royal Society, United Nations University (Institute of Advanced Studies), the U.S. House of Representatives, and the U.S. Senate.

Finally, such a complex meeting could not have been executed so smoothly without professional assistance of the highest order, and we thank Linder & Associates for their excellent event management, which was contributed with creative enthusiasm. Importantly, as editors, we are grateful to the many reviewers who provided thoughtful assessments of the papers in this volume.